The Evolution of My Logo

I tasked my artist Nick to create a Logo for my company, Pet Alligator Games. I think it’s important to make the company look professional and interesting; a logo is a great way to start. Also, I still haven’t finalized all the components to Dog Swap yet, but I was eager to get some cool art in the meantime. Nick’s done plenty of logo art before so I knew I would get something great.

My idea was to get an illustration of a gator acting like a dog. Here are the preliminary sketches I was given. PastedGraphic-6.png

I liked things from both of these sketches. I preferred the pose of the gator that looks like a begging puppy. But I liked the typeface of the other logo and the 3/4 angle of the gator head. I also liked the gator with his mouth open and with a collar and tag. The aspects I liked were put together in this second black and white sketch (below).

pastedgraphic-7

Nick cleaned it up (below), added color and changed some of the font to make it look less dense. I loved the flip of the tail he added. I also suggested the lettering be sized down a bit so that it doesn’t overwhelm the gator.

PastedGraphic-10.png

At this stage it was still a drawing. The last step was to vectorize it. Also, I asked to add pupils to the gator. Below is the final version of my logo. I’m so incredibly happy with the product and I look forward to using it often!

petalligatorgames_logo

Leave a Reply

