Making My Game (Part 2)

Welcome back to my series Making My Game where I detail the process in which I’m designing and (hopefully) printing/publishing my board game!

In Part 1, I discussed the concept and some early playtesting of a card game about dogs.

By the way, here’s a photo of my dog, Denny. He’s a 100% Mutt!IMG_1488

He is the inspiration to this doggy theme – since I do walk him every day.

Back to the game:

Last weekend I created Print-and-Play (PnP) version of Adoption (temporary name). And since there are few components to the game, it’s easy to print out and play with family or friends. You can find the PnP here.

I’ve also been reading a lot about board game design and publishing. Right now, I’m focusing on the following:

  • Creating a Better PnP
  • Finding an Artist / Graphic Designer
  • Discovering New Board Game Blogs
  • Learning about Printing / Manufacturing
  • Learning about Legality of Intellectual Property

I hope to find have a better looking PnP by week’s end and also talk to some graphic artists about commissioning their work.

If you have time to try out my PnP game, comment on what you liked and what you didn’t like! Was the game difficult to learn? Were the rules clear? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

